Monitoring research & innovation


Statistics and indicators


Introduction



Who are we ?

The Federal Science Policy’s scientific and technical information department provides all the information on research statistics in Belgium for:

  • all those interested in research statistics;
  • national organisations (Conseil Central de l’Economie (CCE); the federal, regional and community authorities; etc.);
  • international organisations (the EU's statistics office (EUROSTAT); the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD); etc.).

What do STI's statistics represent?

STI is an acronym for 'science, technology and innovation'. This title covers a very wide range of activities. Within this conceptual framework, 'Research and Experimental Development (R&D)', which is present in all economic sectors, is of major importance. But how can we measure it?

The OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) and the Member States, among which Belgium, examined this problem and, in June 1963, the first edition of the 'Frascati Manual'* was published (the 7th edition came out in 2015). This manual is an international reference to measure R&D (both in the financial domain as well as in the domain of personnel efforts). The measurement of R&D results in R&D statistics, which are composed of:

  • ex post facto data based on surveys carried out in research bodies (the following relates to all R&D statistics); ex post facto is a Latin phrase meaning ‘after the fact’, signifying that the data is collected over a past and finished period;
  • ex ante data based on the budgets of the competent authorities, especially the standard aggregate of 'R&D government budget appropriations' (these are statistics on R&D government budget appropriations); ex ante is a Latin phrase meaning ‘before the event’. ‘Ex ante’ considerations therefore take place beforehand, which leads to an extra difficulty, as it requires assessing future circumstances.


Without entering into too much detail, it is useful to provide the definition of R&D given in the Frascati Manual: 'Research and experimental development comprise creative work undertaken on a systematic basis in order to increase the stock of knowledge, including knowledge of man, culture and society, and the use of this stock knowledge to devise new applications.'

In the 1990s, the need was felt to compile other OECD manuals. Hence, the publication of a manual focusing exclusively on the measurement of innovation activities, known as the OSLO Manual (in French or in English).

* As the manual's name indicates, this publication is more technical. For those who are interested, here is the link to the Frascati Manual in French (6th edition of 2002; 7th edition of 2015 not yet available in French) or in English (7th edition of 2015).


How are STI statistics produced in Belgium?

These statistics are produced in cooperation with our regional and community partners. This cooperation is organised formally through a cooperation agreement. The instrument that incarnates this cooperation is the consultative body CFS/STAT.

Essentially, this cooperation means that every authority collects data on the R&D activities of research organisations that fall under its scope.
The Communities are therefore responsible for collecting data from institutions of higher education. The Regions are responsible for collecting data from companies.

For further details regarding Belgian federal cooperation in the area of “Research and Development Work” (R&D), please refer to the PDF document below:

Monitoring recherche & innovation


Statistiques et indicateurs de STI


Introduction



Qui sommes-nous?

Le service d'information scientifique et technique de la Politique scientifique fédérale est le service auquel s’adresser pour tout ce qui concerne les statistiques de la recherche en Belgique pour:

  • tous les individus intéressés par des statistiques sur la recherche;
  • les organisations nationales (Conseil Central de l’Economie (CCE); les autorités fédérales, régionales et communautaires; …);
  • les organisations internationales (le bureau statistique de l’UE (EUROSTAT); l’Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Economique (OCDE); …).

Que représentent les statistiques STI ?

STI est l'acronyme de 'science, technologie et innovation'. Cette appellation couvre un champ d'activités très large. Au sein de ce cadre conceptuel, la 'Recherche et développement expérimental (R&D)', qui est présente dans tous les secteurs économiques, revêt une importance majeure. Mais comment pouvons-nous mesurer cette dernière?

L'OCDE (l'Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Economique) et les Etats membres, parmi lesquels la Belgique, se sont penchés sur ce problème et, en juin 1963, était publiée la première édition du 'manuel de Frascati'* (la 7ième édition est parue en 2015). Ce manuel est une référence internationale pour la mesure de la R&D (aussi bien dans le domaine financier que dans le domaine des efforts en personnel). La mesure de la R&D donnent lieu à des statistiques de R&D, qui se composent :

  • des données ex post basées sur des enquêtes auprès des organismes de recherche (il s'agit ci-après de toutes les statistiques de R&D); ex post est une locution latine signifiant 'après coup', signifiant que les données sont collectées sur une période qui est passée et terminée;
  • des données ex ante basées sur les budgets des autorités compétentes, notamment l'agrégat standard des 'crédits budgétaires publics de R&D' (il s'agit des statistiques sur les crédits budgétaires publics de R&D); ex ante est une locution latine signifiant 'au préalable'. Les considérations 'ex ante' ont donc lieu au préalable, Les considérations 'ex ante' ont donc lieu au préalable, ce qui entraîne une difficulté supplémentaire, vu qu'il faut estimer les circonstances futures.


Il est utile de donner, sans trop entrer dans les détails, la définition de la R&D retenue par le manuel de Frascati: 'La recherche et le développement expérimental englobent les travaux de création entrepris de façon systématique en vue d'accroître la somme des connaissances, y compris la connaissance de l'homme, de la culture et de la société, ainsi que l'utilisation de cette somme de connaissances pour de nouvelles applications.'

Dans les années 1990, le besoin de rédiger d'autres manuels de l'OCDE s'est fait sentir. Ainsi, est apparu un manuel qui se concentre exclusivement sur la mesure des activités d'innovation. Il s'agit du manuel d'OSLO (en français ou en anglais).

* Comme l'indique d'emblée le nom 'manuel', cette publication est plutôt technique. Nous indiquons ici pour les personnes intéressées le lien vers le manuel de Frascati en français (6ème édition de 2002; 7ème édition de 2015 pas encore disponible en français) et en anglais (7ème édition de 2015).


Comment les statistiques STI sont-elles produites en Belgique ?

Ces statistiques sont réalisées en coopération avec nos partenaires régionaux et communautaires. Cette coopération est organisée de manière formelle via un accord de coopération. L'instrument qui incarne cette coopération est l'organe de concertation CFS/STAT.

Pour l'essentiel, cette coopération implique que chaque autorité collecte les données pour les activités de R&D des organisations de recherche qui sont placées sous sa compétence.
Les Communautés s'occupent donc de la collecte de données auprès les institutions de l'enseignement supérieur. Les Régions s'occupent de la collecte de données auprès des entreprises.

Pour plus d'explications en ce qui concerne la coopération fédérale belge en matière de "Travaux de recherche et développement" (R&D), vous pouvez consulter le document PDF ci-dessous :